displacement

And so in spite of city life
sucking,
it is my home.
I live here and
happen to believe
God put me here.
And in spite of it being
unhealthy–
or whatever–
perhaps it bolsters
my immunity.
Perhaps it teaches me
lessons that
your town never could.

    • Luke
    • September 28th, 2006

    The term “sucking” stands out in glaring contrast to your typical writing style on here. It made me smile.

    • c.l.beyer
    • September 28th, 2006

    Ha, ha! That’s why I had to make the font really little… because all my instincts yell out “naughty word!” when I use it. Maybe I thought if I made it so tiny, people might think it wasn’t really _me_ using it… or they might _miss_ it… or something. 🙂

    • Luke
    • September 28th, 2006

    Umm..yeah…I bet most people won’t even notice it there. *wink*

    • Anonymous
    • September 29th, 2006

    Ha ha — I totally understand! 🙂 (about “sucking”)

    I don’t know, though, that city living is unhealthy.

    • Anonymous
    • September 29th, 2006

    Um, that was me. Rachel. Why do I have so much trouble commenting on people’s blogs???? I can’t make the webpages work for me.

    • M
    • October 3rd, 2006

    I think the use of the second person pronoun at the end adds an interesting twist.

    Hmm. And maybe I’m overanalyzing, so I’ll stop here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

