leaving home

“Everybody has to leave, everybody has to leave their home and come back so they can love it again for all new reasons.” -Donald Miller, Through Painted Deserts

I’m glad I left home–
its brome grass
waving a goodbye
and a hello;
its long dirt lanes
still there,
still solitary;
its public places
full of unguarded
character;
its kitchen
warm with
simmering soup
and some sort
of fragrant
love;
its faces–
Mom Dad
Rachel Jeanne
Myra Sarah–
meaning more
than labels on
the family tree.

So, I’m glad I
left home.

    • Luke
    • January 15th, 2007

    18 years old.

    unconverted.

    Left home to go to school in KS.

    Best thing that ever happened to my relationship with my mom.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

