in the new year

I can’t say 2007 was necessarily great on my self-esteem.  I mean, when you quit nursing, your boobs take on a pathetic sag (one of my sisters likened them to a baggie with a marble in the bottom, I think it was).  Combine that with a failure to read very many books.  And a record low in blog posts.  And the first year since I was probably 15 when there has been absolutely no income of my own to report on the tax documents.

Welcome to motherhood.

Actually, it really is great being a mom.  I was wrapping Christmas presents a few weeks ago, and I had resolved not to buy any more paper in an effort to be green and frugal.  I had a few used gift bags to work with, but my only wrapping paper left for Christmas was some brown grocery bag type stuff.  Isaiah unrolled it and decided he wanted to sit on it.  My precious paper!  I decided not to care because he was so happy to sit on that paper.  “That is a great place to sit, isn’t it!” i said to him.  My dear little boy got up, and slowly laid his nose and lips against mine in his version of a kiss.  Then he sat back down on the paper and blew me another one.  Did I say I had self-esteem problems?  I guess when you’re the only person in your son’s life who gets such royal treatment, you can’t feel sorry for yourself very long.

So I have to say, I’m hopeful as 2008 dawns.  I have a succinct, interesting list of new year’s resolutions that I can’t wait to get started on.  (Unfortunately, my dear blog readers, you don’t get to see them.)  I have a new outfit from my loving husband to feel beautiful in.  I have a cold sore. (Oh, whoops.  Wrong list.  That was supposed to go at the beginning, except that I didn’t have this particular cold sore in 2007.)

The best thing is that there’s so much time left in 2008!  Time to eat dinners; time to bake scones; time to read books and have sex (Did I just say that?  Well, I am married.)  There’s time to worship and pray, to sing and to research.  Time to take baths and get your husband to give you massages.  Time to enjoy Isaiah and await the new year’s adventures!

  1. I like the new look. I’ve got my RSS feed updated and ready for the next bit of intrigue.

    I could kind of picture the look you would’ve look had you made that sex comment in conversation, and it made me laugh.

    Isn’t candor refreshing?

  2. *note to self: proof read comments before sending.

    • clbeyer
    • January 7th, 2008

    🙂

    And yeah, I hope you can call that candor “refreshing.” I’m not sure everyone would describe it that way.

    • Betsy
    • January 8th, 2008

    Love this post! Love you! Love, Betsy

    • Dona
    • January 8th, 2008

    I like the new look. I especially like the “a blog without pictures” by your blog title. 🙂

    • clbeyer
    • January 8th, 2008

    Dona: I was hoping the flowery stuff at the top doesn’t qualify as pictures. 🙂

    • clbeyer
    • January 8th, 2008

    Betsy: Love you too! Thanks so much for stopping by my blog!

    • Brooke
    • January 14th, 2008

    New year, new look. Love it!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

