enter: dreadhead

It’s been over a month now since my new, dear friend Julie backcombed and rolled my straight, smooth hair to dreadlocks.  For eleven hours, Julie and I got to know each other while our babies played together.  I drove home at one-thirty in the morning, looking like a crazy woman with a gigantic spider on her head.

My hair is nothing beautiful now.  It takes months for dreads to develop, tightening up into knotted, matted locks.  I imagined going back to Sabetha, convincing my rural roots with a single glance that urban life leads to certain insanity.

Sara at walk slowly, live wildly was my dreadlock inspiration.  She explains her reasons for getting and loving dreadlocks so beautifully in these posts.  I met Sara when she and her husband Matt drove their veggie oil-powered RV through Dallas, and I was able to see her dreadlocks firsthand.  She wears them gracefully.

I mulled over getting dreadlocks for weeks, maybe months.  I prayed about them, asking God how much he cared about what I did with my hair.  I was intrigued that once they develop, dreadlocks take much less maintenance, washing, and hair products than standard American hairstyles.  I wanted them to be an exercise in patience as well, and a statement against our fastpaced, hairsprayed society, where everything looks like it’s in place.  I stand a bit apart from my society, hoping that I’ll get a glimpse what the homeless guy on the corner of 75 and Park feels like, looking different.  (“Can’t he just pull himself together?”)

And Kyle gave me another reason:  he suggested that we get dreads to mark our adoption journey.  We decided Kyle’s hair was too short, but now for me, my dreadlocks are a symbol of my surrender.  As they take their year or so to develop, I also wait a year for our baby to come home.  I depend on the courts and the agencies to sign a child over to our care, while I know it’s all really in God’s hands.

My hair has a mind of its own now, so I don’t have to think about it as much.  I’ll try to keep my mind on bigger things.

  1. Carrie,

    You wrote the following:
    “I imagined going back to Sabetha, convincing my rural roots with a single glance that urban life leads to certain insanity.”

    Actually looking at it as a whole, people from our mutual past would probably think that Texas as a whole does stuff to us. Consider that it is not only you & Kyle, along with me that have ventured out and left our past, I also remember a sister from Francesville, that moved down here, and moved on from her past. Knowing your heart, or the heart you show on these blogs, I know your going in the right direction. I enjoy reading about the changes you are experiencing. They actually make me think! Thanks

    • clbeyer
    • May 26th, 2008

    Interesting comment, Timothy. Thanks.

    I hope I didn’t reflect badly on my rural hometown because there’s so much I love about it. I’m just guessing that dreadlocks are still considered a little over the top there. 🙂

    I presume we all move on from our pasts in some way or other, no matter where we live. I hope to always think of my past with thankfulness and celebration. I love that God is letting me grow and change and, I hope, honor Him in new ways.

  2. Carrie! I’m not sure why, but I’m dying to see your new non-conformist hair!

    I also want you to come visit Keith & Alysa so I can observe how the Washington Church reacts to you. 🙂 I’m not going to think too deeply about my motivations for all this.

    • clbeyer
    • May 27th, 2008

    Luke,
    Yeah, that’s the general response: “send us pictures!”

    I would like to go to Washington sometime in the next year, but you can be sure it’s not going to be for gleaning reactions to my hair.

    Oh, and congrats on one year. Happy seven years for us!

    • Rosie
    • May 29th, 2008

    I can’t believe it has already been over a month, it seems like a couple of weeks ago we were just talking about it!! I to am very curious to see what your hair looks like, so when can I come down?!! 😉 I wish, it would be so fun to come and visit!! Have a great day!!! Love you
    Rosie

    • clbeyer
    • May 29th, 2008

    Rosie: Come down anytime! Anytime! Thanks again for being 100% honest with me. I know you will be when you see them, too. 🙂

  1. September 2nd, 2008

Leave a Reply

