two inches to go

Having polished off The Ragamuffin Gospel yesterday, I thought, “Hey, that’s wasn’t so bad.”  I told myself I could tackle the other books of which I’ve been in the middle forever.  So I picked up the next-best one: Les Miserables.  Should I tell you it has 1463 pages, or should I just tell you it’s three inches thick?  It looks downright obnoxious sitting on the counter beside me.

I love the story behind the musical; I love the movie — even the severely abridged version.  Ever since my high school choir teacher introduced the songs from the musical, I’ve just wanted play the part of the hopeless, beautiful prostitute Fantine and fragile little Cosette and spirited Eponine.  When I’m alone in my house, I’m a remarkable actress, you know.

But I just wanted to give credit to the mind behind the story.  Victor Hugo produced with intricate detail this astounding story of forgiveness and second chances and revolution and broken hearts, and for the most part, we just shorten and modify it without giving his work much more than a head nod.

I do question Vic’s sanity, of course, when I’m in the middle of a hundred-page description of a convent or a city, when I’d really just like to get back to the main plot.  And that’s why I ended up setting the book down for, uh… two years.  It’s just a marathon to read it.  But, you know, one chapter at a time.  There is a last page.  I’m only two inches away.

  1. Carrie, thanks for the smile. You can do it. 🙂 Love you! Rachel

    • Lynette
    • May 26th, 2008

    You’ve almost got me convinced to pick it up again. I think I’ve maybe made it through the first inch of the book. It’s one of Tom’s favorites, but I just get so bogged down by the Battle of Waterloo and such. Perhaps you’ll inspire me to try once again…although I should probably wait until lack of sleep won’t add to the challenge…

  2. I absolutely LOVE the musical. I’ve seen it 6+ times!

    I’ve never even picked the book up. I’ve tried, but I just couldn’t muster the strength.

    • clbeyer
    • May 27th, 2008

    Lynette,
    Yes, I wouldn’t recommend trying with a newborn soon to be in the house! 🙂 I hope everything is going well in your final weeks of pregnancy!

    Luke,
    Lucky you, having seen the musical so many times! I’ve only seen it live once. “Just couldn’t muster the strength….” Funny.

    • Rachel
    • May 27th, 2008

    I cheated and listened to the book on audiotape. It took months, but it helped to be doing other things while I was listening. I have to admit that I did fast forward through the painfully long description of the sewers of Paris.

    Thanks for your blog, Carrie.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

