double green

Well, a couple months ago, I started to think more about what I was sending down the drain.  In general, I don’t run the water unnecessarily, but sometimes water spirals down through our pipes when it could be serving a second purpose.  So I made a small green commitment to water my plants with used water as often as possible (read: “as often as I think of it”).  Sometimes there are cups of drinking water sitting around unfinished, and I will toss them on my mint plant.  Or sometimes after soaking beans or boiling corn on the cob, there will be a half a kettle of water to take outside to my vegetable garden.

I didn’t have to be strict about my new commitment to see my second green reward: my plants are thriving again!  Who would have thought it could be so easy as watering them!  But then, I do say “thriving” with a grain of salt, because I have yet to harvest anything from my garden.  But the new, green, leafy foliage gives me a little drop of hope in the middle of this miserable Texas heat.

    • Jenny
    • July 29th, 2008

    speaking of salt, if you salt your water for boiling corn on the cob be careful what you water with it- sodium is toxic to most plants and stays in the soil pretty long.

    i enjoy your blog!

    • clbeyer
    • July 29th, 2008

    Oh, good advice! I didn’t know that. Luckily, I haven’t been salting my water from corn on the cob, but I will be sure to watch out for that in the future.

    Thanks for reading!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

