30… er, 29 days of nothing

My dear blogging friends, I am joining yet another challenge from the blogosphere.  Owlhaven is hosting 30 Days of Nothing, in which she challenges readers to cut back on all superfluous spending for the month of September.  Giving up a weekly latte or dinner out, saying “no” to snacks from the grocery store, cutting back on electricity usage — any and all of these things are fair game in order to participate in the challenge.  You can apply the challenge to as many areas of your finances as you like.

I wasn’t going to participate.  After all, I want a cute new skirt, and I would really like to pay somebody to help me with my dreadlocks this month.  But God spoke to me about money this morning when I was reading in 2 Corinthians, and I knew it was okay to give the challenge a try, even if I am a day late.  Looking cute will have to wait.

My 30 29 Days of Nothing will mean that I will plan low-budget meals, and try to only go to the grocery store once every week.  We will have meatless meals at least once a week as well.

I will refuse to eat a lunch out except for Sunday.  My single dinner out per week will not include the price of a drink, appetizer, or dessert.

I will plan my menus around grocery store sales.

I will NOT go over budget in my grocery store expenses.  In fact, I will try to underspend my grocery budget by at least $50.

I will be more diligent about limiting electricity use.  I will airdry all the clothes.  I will turn off lights when I leave the room.

I will be a stickler about making Isaiah wear cloth diapers during the day, unless he’s in someone else’s care.

That’s an intimidating good start, don’t you think?  I may make more resolutions as the month goes along, and I will try to post updates on how things are going.

In the meantime, and in other news, I am in the process of recreating my housekeeping schedule and developing new sleeping patterns.  (Don’t I have ridiculously high hopes for myself?  I never learn.)  I hope to post a copy of my insane task lists in the coming weeks.  My new sleeping schedule says I must go to bed now because I am tired.  So, goodnight!

  1. Sounds great! Be sure to sign in on Mr. Linky on my blog if you haven’t already

    Mary

    • Rosie
    • September 3rd, 2008

    This is so cool but I also have started my own list for this month because I am so tired of waste and spending money! I have this really awesome material, which I will be sewing into grocery bags, to add to the 3 I already own and we have now turned off our air unless somebody comes to visit. I refuse to only go to the grocery store every other week and not to buy anything that is not on my list.
    My desire to change came last week when I was looking around my cluttered house of toys and books and just stuff and I became so frustrated because I am tired of clutter and not being organized. Anyway, I’ll keep you posted as to how successful my month is going!!! Love ya!

  2. You can do it!! It will be so worthwhile!

  3. This sounds like a good challenge. I’m sure you will do great, even if you do not live up to your own goals 100% of the time. I try to limit going out to eat and occassionally going to a movie, but being single with few friends, makes me sort of a dull person with no life. But thank goodness for youtube for entertainment.

    Good Luck & keep us posted!

    • clbeyer
    • September 3rd, 2008

    You rock, Rosie! That’s awesome. And yes, let me know how things go for you.

    Thanks to all the rest of you for your encouragement! I needed it today. ; )

    • Betsy
    • September 4th, 2008

    Go Carrie Go!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  1. September 28th, 2008

Leave a Reply

