A Giveaway to Ring in the Advent!

Guess what?

Since it’s nearly the Advent season,

and nearly Thanksgiving,

and especially since I recently received two copies of an intriguing book in my mailbox,

I am hosting the first giveaway this blog has ever had!

(This is not a poem.)

 

I’ve had my eye on Kimberlee Conway Ireton’s book The Circle of Seasons: Meeting God in the Church Year, ever since I started reading her blog a year ago. I love the idea of integrating the festivity of seasons into our family’s culture — to wait with more anticipation and longing for the holidays marking our calendar. Since I’m bound for a grand wedding feast with God Himself, I really want to learn how to celebrate!

Of her book Ireton says this:

They’re called seasons, the seven seasons of the church year, and they’re a way out of bondage to the frenzied pace of our culture and into the freedom of Christ’s unforced rhythms of grace.

Beginning with the reflective preparation of Advent and Lent, the seasons circle through the joyful celebrations of Christmas and Epiphany, Easter and Pentecost, and end in the often lulling dailiness of Ordinary Time. The seasons point us to Christ. They lure our gaze back to God. They remind us that God is lovingly with us moment by moment, season by season, year after year, always.

And so, although I haven’t read The Circle of Seasons yet, I think right now is the perfect time to begin, with Advent nearly upon us.

Maybe you’d like a copy of this book to inspire your Advent and all the coming year? To enter the giveaway drawing, please drop me a comment or an email (beyer dot carrie at gmail dot com), sharing one area in your life in which you’ve been growing lately. You have until Friday at noon, when I’ll draw a winner.

 

The odds may be in your favor.

One entry per entrant.

Email or comment.

Share your growth.

Perhaps you’ll win a book?

(This is a poem.)

  1. Ooh! Pick me, pick me! How am I growing? Let me count the ways. 1) Peace in the midst of chaos. This growth makes me very happy.

      • clbeyer
      • November 20th, 2012

      Oh, yes, Rachel! That strikes me as very happy growth. I thought I might have sensed that about you when we were all over on Saturday.

  2. This book sound wonderful! I absolutely enjoy the Advent season. Growth that is happening… removing the life suffocating tendrils of fear and replacing them with love and gratitude.

    • clbeyer
    • November 20th, 2012

    Good to hear from you here, Jody! I love how love drives out fear, and that the two can’t coexist. Beautifully said.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

