Poem 24, National Poetry Month: Garish Dawn

Ah, there is sweet grace when I am sick, as I have been this week. These daily poems are having trouble being formed at all.

Morgan Guyton, a blogger and pastor whom I met at the Festival of Faith and Writing, did the work for me today. Morgan attended a Festival poetry reading in which I read three of my poems: “What Winter Leaves Bare,” “The Sacred Disgust,” and “Garish Dawn.”

I offered “Garish Dawn” as a printed poetry gift to those who contributed to the adoption fundraiser I hosted in 2013, but it hasn’t yet appeared on the web. It’s proven to be good material for spoken word, however, and it was a delight to be able to share it again this month, just weeks after Annunciation clicked by on the calendar. I am always humbled by the warm response this piece receives.

Stop over at Morgan’s blog to read it.  (Credit for the painting of me goes–again–to the talented Amanda Olinger.)

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

