to hold

God was so present
I could not tell where
She stopped and I began.

Sometimes I would ask
Her to hold me. She
never laughed,
but I suppose She
smiled to hear me
use such a big word—

which explains why
what She did
felt so different
than what I’d expected.

  1. Very beautiful.

      • clbeyer
      • May 20th, 2014

      Thank you for reading, Charles.

    • manhattandoula
    • May 20th, 2014

    I love it. I was just being courageous the other day and talking about Her; how God wasn’t mad at me.

      • clbeyer
      • May 20th, 2014

      Sheesh. Have you heard all the Rachel Held Evans racket today? I didn’t mean to write a She-God poem this morning, but it is a happy accident.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

